Take Five from Five Ex-Lawyers

Lawyer turned editor Carlos Goenaga 

  1. Life for a lawyer who leaves the law is…fresh.
  2. The hardest thing about being an ex-lawyer is…explaining to others why you left.
  3. The best thing about being an ex-lawyer is…no ties.
  4. The primary misconception about ex-lawyers is…that they couldn’t hack it.
  5. The main difference between my life now and my life as a lawyer is…time for leisure.

Lawyer turned painter (Anonymous)

  1. Life for a lawyer who leaves the law is…confusing when people who know nothing about her former profession still tell her she talks like a lawyer.
  2. The hardest thing about being an ex-lawyer is…that Americans always want attorneys. Job security.
  3. The best thing about being an ex-lawyer is…getting to do things rather than facilitate things being done.
  4. The primary misconception about ex-lawyers is…not so different from current lawyers. That they are an encyclopedia of legal knowledge and will immediately know the answer of why so-and-so is being illegal by doing such-and-such.
  5. The main difference between my life now and my life as a lawyer is…I’m happier. If I loved law, I’d still be a lawyer. So I should say ex-lawyers are really people who just made a personal career mistake and are now on course correction.

Lawyer turned writer Franz Kafka

  1. Life for a lawyer who leaves the law is… “perhaps nothing more than the rationalization of a man who wants to find peace for a moment.”
  2. The hardest thing about being an ex-lawyer is…that “the right understanding of any matter and a misunderstanding of the same matter do not wholly exclude each other.”
  3. The best thing about being an ex-lawyer is…to have awoken one morning from uneasy dreams to no longer find myself transformed in my bed into a monstrous vermin.
  4. The primary misconception about ex-lawyers is…that “when one has once accepted and absorbed Evil, it no longer demands to be believed.”
  5. The main difference between my life now and my life as a lawyer is… “there is no more denying that anything is possible.”

    Lawyer turned painter Henri Matisse’s two cents

    “I wouldn’t mind turning into a vermilion goldfish.”

    One response to “Take Five from Five Ex-Lawyers

    1. This is a cool page! obviously i just didnt come across it.. typed in”lawyer turned..” into Google and came across the page. I am a lawyer- with a work experience of 8 months and it might be too soon for me to call it quits but something is amiss. Maybe the stress and teh push to meet deadlines weares me out; But then i think about what i could do besides this and i get jammed. I have an inkling but the income is a factor. But thanks for the page! was a nice read!

    Leave a Reply

    