Lawyer Turned High School Physics Teacher Benjamin Mikesh

“The main difference between my life now and my life as a lawyer is… the average age of my clients.  Their average maturity level is largely unchanged.”

Ex-Lawyer Benjamin Mikesh just finished his first year as a 9th and 12th grade physics at the New York public school Bard High School Early College.  He responded to our five shortly after returning home from his school’s commencement ceremonies during which, Ben informs us, he “got to wear a robe with a fancy purple sash, since I have a JD.”  What a cool benefit to having a law degree!  Seriously, here are Ben’s responses to our five:

1. Life for a lawyer who leaves the law is… not necessarily more restful.  Once you’ve become acclimated to working inhuman hours, it’s hard to dial back to humane.  On the other hand, as a public school teacher those hours are spent, at least to some extent, as I see fit.

2. The hardest thing about being an ex-lawyer is… justifying your resume to your new co-workers.  Oh, and school cafeteria food.

3. The best thing about being an ex-lawyer is… being an EX-lawyer.

4. The primary misconception about ex-lawyers is… we all regret going to law school.  I’m still glad I went, and I plan on using my degree if and when I finally develop that Introduction to the American Legal System elective the seniors have been begging for.  (Taught via the Socratic method, naturally.)

5. The main difference between my life now and my life as a lawyer is… the average age of my clients.  Their average maturity level is largely unchanged.

One response to “Lawyer Turned High School Physics Teacher Benjamin Mikesh

  1. Number 4, the misconception, is a great point. Though I have no desire to Rip Van Winkle the next 40 years of my life as a rubber stamping paper monkey, law school made me a much better and capable individual. I often have to explain to people that though my goals do not follow a legal career I have no regrets about law school as it trained me to tackle problems, understand other’s motives, and communicate ideas – crucial to any field whereas if I went got an MBA I’d only have the ability to read graphs and charts and make killer powerpoint presentations.

Leave a Reply

